Coastal Region at a Glance


The Coastal Georgia Regional Water Plan was initially completed in 2011 and subsequently updated in 2017. The plan outlines near-term and long-
term strategies to meet water needs through 2050. The Coastal Region covers the lower portion of five major river basins, including Savannah, Ogeechee, Altamaha, Satilla, and St. Marys Rivers. The Coastal Region encompasses several major population centers , including Brunswick, Hinesville–Fort Stewart, and Savannah.

Key Water Resource Issues Being Addressed by the Council

  1. Long-term sustainable water supplies for municipal and industrial growth in the region while protecting the unique coastal environment.
  2. Current and potential future groundwater withdrawals in and around Effingham, Chatham, Bryan and Liberty counties for future water supply.
  3. Integration with ongoing efforts including salt water intrusion, Savannah River 5R Process, demands for water upstream of the region, and interstate activities with South Carolina and Florida.
  4. Low dissolved oxygen in Savannah and Brunswick Harbors and other water quality issues.