Suwannee-Satilla Regional Highlights

The major surface water resources in the region include the Alapaha, Satilla, St. Marys, Suwannee, and Withlacooche Rivers. The Suwannee-Satilla Region encompasses several major population centers including Douglas, Tifton, Waycross, and Valdosta. The Suwannee-Satilla Regional Water Planning Council meets regularly between plan updates to discuss ongoing implementation of the plan, outreach to interested stakeholders, and hear the latest on water issues affecting the Region. Below is a summary of ongoing activities.

Regional Water Plan Seed Grants

Regional Water Plan Seed Grants provide competitive funding annually to support and incentivize local governments and other water users as they undertake implementation of the Regional Water Plan. The Grants require cash and in-kind match and have a maximum project amount. Additional information about Seed Grants may be found at EPD’s website: SEED GRANTS

During the 2018 seed grant cycle, the University of Georgia College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences (UGA CAES) was awarded a seed grant to integrate cooperative extension county agents in the promotion and implementation of multiple agricultural management practices within the Altamaha, Coastal Georgia, and Suwannee-Satilla Water Planning Regions.  Updates on the seed grant work can be found at: UPDATES

Outreach Activities

Members of the Regional Council participate in outreach activities to increase knowledge and understanding of the Regional Plan. Outreach activities in the Suwannee-Satilla Region have focused on agricultural users.