Coastal Georgia Council

The Coastal Georgia Regional Water Planning Council is made up of members who reside in the region and who have been appointed by the Governor, the Lieutenant Governor, or the Speaker of the House.  The Council is led by a Chair and Vice-Chair who are voted on by the membership.

For more information about how appointments to Regional Water Planning Councils are made, please refer to Section 14 of the STATE WATER PLAN.

The members of the Coastal Georgia Regional Water Planning Council include:

Name City  County 
Fred Blitch Statesboro Bulloch
Chris Blocker Port Wentworth Chatham
Michael F. Browning Brunswick Glynn
Jason Buelterman Tybee Island Chatham
E. James Burnsed Richmond Hill Bryan
Robert H. Byrd, Jr. Pooler Chatham
Kay Cantrell St. Simons Island Glynn
Van H. Collins Statesboro Bulloch
Tom Edenfield (Alternate) Savannah Chatham
Forrest Floyd Guyton Effingham
John F. Godbee, Jr. Brooklet Bulloch
William H. Gross Kingsland Camden
William K. Guthrie (Alternate) Savannah Chatham
Hugh “Bubba” Hodge Darien McIntosh
Jay Kaufman Brunswick Glynn
Michelle L. Liotta, Vice-Chair Rincon Effingham
Reginald S. Loper Springfield Effingham
Randal E. Morris White Oak Camden
Johnny Murphy Richmond Hill Bryan
Phil Odom Hinesville Liberty
Pete Peterson Guyton Effingham
John L. Sawyer Rincon Effingham
Mark V. Smith Savannah Chatham
James Thomas, Jr. Hinesville Liberty
G. Benjamin (Benjy) Thompson, Chair Statesboro Bulloch
James Vaughn, Jr. Savannah Chatham
Roger A. Weaver Kingsland Camden
Rep. Ron Stephens (Ex-Officio)    
Sen. William T. Ligon, Jr. (Ex-Officio)